I love the MGC

(not to be confused with the MCG …)

Most days I ride my bike, Mallory, to work. I could ride along the road, but I like to sneak though the Melbourne General Cemetery. On wet mornings, or mornings when I have stuff to do that Mallory isn’t invited to, I walk and always stop to take at least one photo on my way.

The old section is my favourite, with the falling apart graves etched with glorious names like Elsie Elizabeth, Margaret Mary and Grace Jean, and the impressive ornate headstones. The morning clouds make the whole experience almost (almost!) religious.

I guess some would find my love of the cemetery in bad taste, but I love imaging the lives people lived, who they loved and how they are missed. It’s beautiful and uplifting.

20120604-095110.jpg

How do you feel about cemeteries? The MGC is beautiful, yes?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

