English, Deutsch, Espanol

20120316-171653.jpg
Learning languages can be confusing …

I learnt German at High School, thanks to the unflappable Frau Schmit. She showed superhuman patience while the class attempted to distract her from her learning objectives with inane questions about German life. Such as “Do Germans dress their dogs up for Christmas?” Answer – no.

My German language career culminated with a three month exchange to visit Raphaela, my wunderbar exchange student. Prima! I become fluent! Was mistaken for a German! I achieved language nirvana.

20120316-172232.jpg
I ordered this beer auf Deutsch!

However, I then went on to learn Spanish at University, balancing the high of almost straight A’s in my first year with the low of almost straight D’s in my last. I soon learnt that it was muy difficult learning a language in a class room.

20120316-173323.jpg
This photo was not taken in Mexico.

Despite my dismal Spanish skills, my Spanish language career culminated in successfully navigating myself and two of my best amigas through Costa Rica, Cuba and Mexico. D’s be damned.

Since then I undertook to learn Russian as preparation for our grand Trans-Mongolia adventure, learning only the mere basics. Nyet (no) and pazhalusta (please) being my favourites.

20120319-104842.jpg
With my mates Lenin and Stalin.

Next on my list of languages to be average at is French. I already have croissant, bonjour, oui and madam sorted. Almost there …

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

